International Union of Architects

Regional Winners of the 8th Edition of the International VELUX Awards - Student Ideas Competition



Light of Tomorrow

The International VELUX Award has announced its Regional Winners for the 2018 Edition. The IVA is a biannual international student ideas competition organised around the theme, “Light of Tomorrow”.  Participants were asked to examine the future of daylight in the built environment, a topic that lends itself to imaginative, inventive and experimental approaches to the question of the role daylight plays in our daily lives.  

The IVA “seeks to widen the boundaries of daylight in architecture, including aesthetics, functionality, sustainability, and the interaction between buildings and environment.”
Participants chose between two focus areas: Daylight in buildings and Daylight Investigations.  Competitors competed by Regions corresponding to the five UIA Regions.


1. Daylight in buildings
Projects that demonstrate applicable principles for providing daylight and sunlight into buildings – including the effects of building construction and context of the site, shape and dimensions, window openings, screens, shadings, interior divisions, materials and external conditions.
Specific focus on architecture for health and well-being and projects that address challenges faced by cities, communities and modern societies, and where daylight and architecture can help create change through better and healthier living environments.
2. Daylight investigations
Projects that look at the physical properties of light, basics of optics and materials, as well as technological developments, new materials, storage or transportation of daylight.
The use of daylight in public space for functional, recreational, cultural or spiritual use and the effect of daylight on state of mind, health and well-being as well as the dynamics and temporal quality of daylight and its effects on behaviour and spaces over time and seasons.
The Awards are organised globally in two stages: in the first phase, regional prizes will be awarded to projects from the UIA member regions 1) Western Europe, 2) Eastern Europe and the Middle East, 3) the Americas, 4) Asia + Oceania and 5) Africa. In the second phase, prizes will be awarded to overall winners.
The award is not restricted to the use of VELUX products. Innovative thinking and use of specific VELUX components as daylight providers will however be within the scope of the award and the jury will be allowed to give special prizes to the best projects.
Participation is open to any registered student of architecture – individual or team – all over the world. We encourage multi-disciplinary teams including e.g. engineering, design and landscaping. Every student or student team must be backed and granted submission by a teacher from a school of architecture.
The award welcomes projects from individuals or groups of students, who are students during the study year 2017/18.
There is no limit to the number of entries from each school, but participating schools should ensure the quality of submitted study projects, e.g. by making a prejudgment. VELUX employees cannot participate.
Evaluation criteria
The jury will evaluate the projects in accordance with the following criteria:
The work with daylighting as a premise for architecture
How the project is researched and documented
How the project addresses contemporary and future challenges
The level of experimentation and innovation
The overall graphic presentation of the project, how the project presents itself.





VELUX is proud to announce that students from 250 different schools of architecture in 58 different countries submitted projects to the 2018 Edition of the Prize.

The international jury, which met in Copenhagen at the end of June, evaluated more than 600 student projects over the course of two days. They eventually shortlisted 59 projects and selected 9 Regional Winners. The work of the students demonstrated strong, genuine and well-developed ideas. 



The winners from the ‘Daylight in Buildings’ category are: 


• Western Europe: “Reaching the Light” by Joana Robalo, João Umbelino, Ana Ázar, António Lopes and Miguel Pedro from Universidade de Évora in Portugal


• Eastern Europe and the Middle East: “Light Forms Jugglers” by Anastasia Maslova from Kazan State University of Architecture and Engineering in Russia


• The Americas: “Light Liquefaction” by Ziqi Chen, Shuaizhong Wang and Zeyu Liu from University of Virginia in the United States


• Asia and Oceania: “My Dead Relative in the Light” by Qi Wang, Jingkai Chen and Peilin Yin from Qingdao University of Technology in China


• Africa: “Light Pavilion” by Fatai Osundiji and Emmanuel Ayo-loto from Obafemi Awolowo University in Nigeria



The winners from the ‘Daylight Investigations’ category are: 


• Western Europe: “Cover to Reveal” by Brice Lemaire, Xiaolan Vandendries and Julien Obedia from Université Catholique de Louvain in Belgium


• Eastern Europe and the Middle East: “Cloud of the Polar Light” by Anna Borisova and Kamilla Akhmetova from Kazan State University of Architecture and Engineering in Russia


• The Americas: “Daylight to Water” by Stephen Baik, Abubakr Bajaman and John Nguyen from University of Toronto in Canada


• Asia and Oceania: “Road to Light” by Yuhan Luo, Di Lan and Yusong Liu from Tianjin University in China


The winners will compete for the title of Global Winner at the World Architecture Festival in November 2018 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.



Carme Pigem Barceló

RCR Arquitectes



Rick Joy

Rick Joy Architects

United States


Li Hu

OPEN Architecture



Sasa Begovic

3LHD Architects



Martin Pors Jepsen



  • 01 Sep 2017
  • 01 Apr 2018
  • 15 Jun 2018
    Submission deadline
  • 26 Jun 2018
  • 30 Nov 2018
    Award Ceremony