International Union of Architects

The International Contextual Architecture Awards in memory of Architect Turgut Cansever


local identity

professional prize

Antalya Kepez Municipality, in cooperation with the Antalya Branch of the Chamber of Architects of Turkey, has organised the “The International Contextual Architecture Awards in memory of Architect Turgut Cansever”.


For more information, contact the organisers.



Endorsed by the International Union of Architects (UIA), these Awards seek proposals that exhibit original interpretations of Turkish Architect Turgut Cansever’s design principles. These principles include adapting design to regional characteristics, thereby promoting cultural continuity, regional values and distinctive local attributes. The award seeks to highlight the importance of local identity in a globalised world.

Known for his contextual approach to architecture and urban planning prioritizing regional expression, context-specific design and architectural quality, Turgut Cansever (1921-2009) is the only architect ever to win the Aga Khan Award for Architecture three times.


The Awards are divided into three parts:


• The Turgut Cansever Grand Prix, which recognizes an architect whose lifelong commitment to a contextual approach to the contemporary built environment prioritizes local and regional identity as well as environmental sensibilities.


• The Turgut Cansever International Award, attributed to an architectural project by an architect or architectural firm from any country in the world. The project should embody the values Turget Cansever emphasized in his own work.


The Turgut Cansever Local Award recognizing an architectural project and its author realised in the province of Antalya, Turkey.




Architects can both apply with their own projects or nominate the projects of other architects. Clients and professional organisations may also nominate projects and architects as candidates for the award.


The Antalya Branch of the Chamber of Architects of Turkey


Antalya Kepez Municipality


The winner of the Grand Prix will be awarded 25 000 TRY (approximately 3 900 Euros); the International Award winner will receive 20 000 TRY (approximately 3 150 Euros) and the Local Award winner will be awarded 15 000 TRY (approximately 2 360 Euros).


 The international jury consisting of Ian Ritchie (UK), Antonio Riverso (Italy), Süha Özkan (Turkey), C. Abdi Güzer (Turkey) and UIA Representative Martin Drahovsky (Slovakia) will meet in Antalya on 10 February 2020 to evaluate the entries.

  • 18 Nov 2019
  • 20 Jan 2020
    Submission deadline
  • 10 Feb 2020
  • 22 Feb 2020
    Award Ceremony