International Union of Architects

UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards - 2017 Edition


Friendly and Inclusive Spaces

The UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards were founded to encourage and acknowledge architects who have created exemplary friendly, inclusive and accessible buildings and public spaces. Entries must demonstrate that they have met the highest standards of universal and inclusive design, where the realised designs contribute to the quality of life of all those who may use them.




Awards are given in four categories: New Buildings, Public Spaces, Existing & Historic Buildings and Research. Entries are assessed in two stages, first by an international jury located in each of the UIA’s five regions and finally by an international jury including a past award winner.


In 2017 a total of 76 entries were received from 28 countries across five continents. The jury was impressed by the range of project types submitted and by the standard and quality of the shortlisted entries.


The following entries were selected:


new buildings:



Entry No. 168 Coláiste Ailigh by McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects, Ireland.


Honourable Mentions:

Entry No. 138 Libertador Station, La Paz Teleferic by Roberto Ameneiro Galdo Architect, Bolivia.

Entry No.47 Amanenomori Nursery School by Aisaka Architects Atelier, Japan

Entry No. 39 Farming Kindergarten by Vo Trong Nghia Architects, Vietnam

Entry No. 51 Mumuni Library by Eleni Coromvili, Architect, Zambia

Entry No. 106 BE Friendly Space by Doan Than Ha Architect, Vietnam



public space



Entry No: 134 Paseo Puerta de Tierra by SCF Arquitectos, Puerto Rico.


Honourable Mentions:

Entry No. 115 Rehabilitation of Karpenisi Town Centre by Andreas Lampropoulos, Architect, Greece.

Entry No 50 Kwun Tong Promenade by Architectural Services Department, Hong Kong



existing and historic buildings



Entry No. 131 Malahide Parish Centre by Sean Harrington Architects, Ireland


Honourable Mentions:

Entry No. 128 Sundparken by CF Moller Architects, Denmark

Entry No 148 Viva Blue House by Kenneth Tse, Meta4 Design Forum Ltd, Hong Kong.





Honourable Mentions:

Entry No. 62 Clear Code Architecture. Authors: Patricio Martínez González, Maximià Torruella Castell, Spain

Entry No 52 Model for the Design and Evaluation of Accessible Spaces and Participatory Methodology with Users, for the Easy Understanding of Environments and Buildings. Author: Berta Brusilovsky Filer, Spain



The Medals and Honourable Mentions will be formally presented on the 6th September 2017 at the UIA Award Ceremony in Seoul, Korea, during the 26th UIA Congress of Architecture.


The medal winning entries, honourable mentions and all shortlisted entries will be exhibited on the UIA Architecture for All Work Programme Stand at the UIA Congress in Seoul from the 3rd – 7th September 2017. Subsequently they will be exhibited on the UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards platform and promoted through publication on the UIA and Architecture for All Work Programme websites, social media and journals as well as those of UIA member bodies. Press releases publicising the winners will also be sent to international media.


The authors of the winning entries and special mentions will be invited to speak about their projects at a UIA Architecture for All Work Programme Seminar at the Seoul Congress on Wednesday 6th September between 14.00 and 17.00.


We look forward to seeing you all there!


Special thanks to both Stage l and Stage 2 juries, to RIAI, SARP and HKIA.



The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland - RIAI


Stage 1 Regional Juries


Regions I & V

Jane Simpson, United Kingdom

Joseph Spiteri, Malta

Fernando Garcia Ochoa Montes, Spain

Monica Klenovec, Austria

Jim Clemes, Luxembourg (Special Mention 2014)

Isabella Steffan, Italy

Magda Mostafa, Egypt (Winner Research Category 2014)

Phillip Thompson, South Africa


Regions II & III

Augusto F. Alvarez Fuentes, Mexico

Gustavo Aguilar Montoya, Costa Rica

Inara Karklina, Latvia

Sotiris Papadopoulos, Greece


Region IV

Akeel Bilgrami, Pakistan

Allen Kong, Australia (Special Mention 2014)

Masud Rashid, Bangladesh

Norwina Nawawi, Malaysia

Stephen, HO Kin Wai, Hong Kong


Stage 2 Selection Panel: International Jury

Vassilis Sgoutas, Greece, Past President UIA (Jury Chairman)

Krzysztof Ingarden, Poland, (Medal Winner Durban 2014)

Krzysztof Chwalibog, Poland, Co-Director UIA Architecture for All WP

Fionnuala Rogerson, Ireland, Co-Director UIA Architecture for All Work WP:

Joseph Kwan, Hong Kong, Co-ordinator, UIA Region IV Architecture for All WP

Eduardo Elkouss, Spain, Co-ordinator Region lll UIA Architecture for All WP

  • 31 May 2017