International Union of Architects
Member Area
Professional Practice Commission (PPC)

Professional practice commission

The Professional Practice Commission sustains and implements “The UIA Accord on International Standards of Professionalism in Architectural Practice”.  The Accord is intended to guide member section professionals, governments and lawmakers in the promotion of the global mobility of architects.

Adopted by the UIA General Assembly in Beijing in 1999, the Accord contains 18 policy statements and 14 fully developed guidelines. The commission continuously reviews the current relevance of the standards of practice, and develops new documents that are reviewed and adopted by the UIA Council on a regular basis. The updated document is adopted by the UIA General Assembly at the conclusion of each Triennium. 

  • James Wright - USA
    James Wright is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, and a founding member and current Immediate Past President of the AIA International Region. He led the AIA delegation to the 2017 UIA Assembly in Seoul, and currently serves as UIA Professional Practice Commission Co-Director. Over his career, Wright has led the design and project management of over US$5 billion of building construction and has conducted innumerable planning and feasibility studies in over 40 countries spanning every continent except Antarctica.
  • Zhuang Weimin - China
    Zhuang Weimin completed a PhD in Architecture from Tsinghua University in 1992. He has since become the Dean of the Tsinghua University School of Architecture. He also acts as Vice President of the Architectural Society of China and is a Member of National Accreditation Board of Architectural Education (China). He was awarded an Honorable Mention for the FIDIC Project Award in 2014 and an Honorable Mention for the ARCASIA Awards.

  • Lionel Carli - France
  • Rafael Pellicer - Spain
  • Vlad Alexandru Gaivoronschi - Romania
  • Elena Grigoryeva - Federation of Russia
  • Edwin Gonzalez Hernandez - Costa Rica
  • Flavio Enrique Romero - Colombia
  • Rover Cheung - Hong Kong
  • Asad Ali - Pakistan
  • Taoufik El Rashidy - Egypt
  • Jacinta Kabarungi - Uganda

  • Isabel Moreau - France
  • Juerg Spreyermann - Switzerland
  • Albert Dubler - France
  • Ian Pritchard - Belgium
  • Regina Gonthier - Switzerland
  • Kamal Musakhanov - Azerbaijan
  • Michael Armstrong - USA
  • Wei Zhang - China
  • Chen Wu - China
  • Vilas Avachat - India
  • Shahab Ghani - Pakistan
  • Seung Yeal You - Korea
  • Bibhuti Man Singh - Nepal
  • Theodore Chan - Singapore
  • Maged Samy Ibrahim - Egypt
  • Wilson Mugambi - Kenya
  • Simmy Peerutin - South Africa
  • Ehsan Khan - Bangladesh
  • Ishtiaque Zahir - Bangladesh
  • Divya Kush - India
  • Prakash Deshmukh - India
  • Pei Ing Tan - Malaysia

General Secretariat

The UIA General Secretariat, placed under the responsibility of the Secretary General, is the Union's executive body and the administrative centre for the coordination of relations between the UIA Member Sections and their activities.

The General Secretariat assists architects and architecture students in getting into contact with professional colleagues throughout the world, from professional organisations and architectural schools to museums and media.

The General Secretariat helps architects to keep up to date with UIA activities, its partners and Member Sections.

General Secretariat of the International Union of Architects

Tour Maine Montparnasse
33, avenue du Maine - B.P. 158
75755 PARIS Cedex 15 – France

Tel: +33 (0)1 45 24 36 88