International Union of Architects

2018 UIA-HYP Student Ideas Competition - Urban Co-Living: Customizing Modules for Community


Architecture and Transformation

Urban Co-Living

The UIA has endorsed the UIA-HYP Cup 2018 International Student Competition in Architectural Design since its first edition in 2012. Each edition explores a specific topic chosen by jury chairman under the theme of “Architecture in Transformation.” The subject for this year’s edition is “Urban Co-Living: Customizing Modules for Community,” a topic chosen by 2018 jury chairman Patrik Schumacher. 


PHOTOS: “Eutrobia,” winning project by Ma Jieqian, Chen Fangbing, Chu Jianfei, Yang Nan from Southwest Jiaotong University, Architectural Association and Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University; jury meeting presided over by Patrik Schumacher.


The annual competition is organised by the School of Architecture, Tianjin University and Urban Environment Design (UED) Magazine. The international student ideas competition recognizes students who can perceive and solve contemporary social, economic and cultural issues in innovative ways and has thus become a strong and positive way of scouting out strong young architects.

The topic required an investigation of issues around human space and Spirit of Place in “our increasingly fragmented cities and unordered villages.” Competitors were asked to present green and sustainable concepts demonstrating creativity as well as solid basic architectural design skills.

This year, the competition committee is proud to announce the enthusiastic participation from nearly 2000 student groups. After several rounds of review and heated discussion, 34 entries were voted as the final winners including: 1 First-Prize winner, 3 Second-Prize winners and 8 Third-Prize winners as well as 22 Honourable Mentions and 34 finalists.  




The Jury attributed the Second and Third Prizes to the following teams and individuals:


Second Prize: 

“Spring of Life”:  Huang Xiaoying, She Xinyi, Sun Wanqi from Xi’an Jiaotong University under the direction of advisors Feng Wei and Jia Jiandong

“Seeing With Eyes Closed”: Yeou-Uei, Chai from Tamkang University under the direction of Hideki Hirahara

“The City ‘Communication Machine’”: Tang Bing, Zhang Hong, Li Wenya, Sun Yaxin from Shandong Jianzhu University under the direction of Xue Yibing


Third Prize:

“Confined Growth”: Ding Yujie, Zhao Xiaotong, Liu Hongjin, Lang Xueqing from Hainan University under the direction of Gu Rixin and Zhang Huali

“Colony Hybrid interactive unit——Take ant colony algorithm as an example”: Cheng Zhuo, Pan Yusong, Cao Huizhong from Wuhan University under the direction of Hu Sirun and Li Jinyi

“Life In Granary”: Fang Youchen, Dong Junfeng, Li Zhipeng from Nanjing Tech University, Hebei University of Engineering

“A World All Its Own”: Wang Chen, Fan Jiawei, Zhang Xiaohe, Fan Yi from Yancheng Institute of Technology, Hebei University of Engineering, Shandong Jianzhu University, Hebei University of Technology under the direction of Gu Haiyan, Mo Qingjie

“2048 TOWER”: Irina Chikhireva, Daria Nikolaeva, Diana Kalimullina, Maria Svetovidova from Kazan State University of Architecture and Engineering under the direction of Ilnar Akhtiamov, Rezeda Akhtiamova

“All in One”: Xu Shaohua, Wang Haoxue, Zhang Zhongzhen from Tianjin University under the direction of Xu Qin, Zhao Jianbo

“Garden metabolism”: Guo Rong, Ren Hengyi, Liu Yu, Hu Peili from Southwest Jiaotong University,Wuhan University of Science and Technology under the direction of Wei Dan

“Periphery Party”: Ibrahim Salman & Sai Ma from Rice University, School of Architecture under the direction of Troy Schaum


The jury also attributed 22 Honourable Mentions and 34 finalists. 

See the competition site for a complete list.



The International Jury attributed First Prize to “Eutrobia,” the project designed by Ma Jieqian, Chen Fangbing, Chu Jianfei, Yang Nan from Southwest Jiaotong University, Architectural Association and Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University. 

Jury Chairman Patrik Schumacher said the winning project “offers a compelling translation of the idea of modular urban co-living. The crucial ideas of customization and community building are addressed via an innovative online interface. The modules are varied and woven into an intricate urban fabric whose emphasis is on the way that section affords porosity across levels.”

The concept of the First Prize design was inspired by Italo Calvino’s 1978 novel, Invisible City and Hobbes theory of the social contract, examining the intertwining ideas of economics, neighbourhood, cultural identity, space and communication.


 1st Prize (1 team or individual)

Certificate and 100 000 RMB (approximately 15 000 USD before tax)


2nd Prize (3 teams or individuals)

Certificate and 30 000 RMB (approximately 5 000 USD before tax)


3rd Prize (8 teams or individuals)

Certificate and 10 000 RMB (approximately 1 700 USD before tax)


Honourable Mentions (several teams)

Certificate and 6-month free subscription to UED magazine

Advisors of prize-winning projects will also be awarded certificates.

Prize-winners will have an opportunity to intern at prestigious architectural firms through the “Learning Design with Master Architects” programme. 




Globally recognized for its high standards and quality since its first edition in 2012, the competition seeks to assemble a panel of innovative and international architects to sit on its jury. The jury for the 2018 edition consists of:

Jury Chair Patrik Schumacher (Germany), Principle of Zaha Hadid Architects – ZHA 

Cui Kai (China), UIA Representative and Academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, Chinese Architecture Design Master 

Pekka Salminen (Finland), Founding Partner of the PES-Architects Ltd., Member of Finnish Academy of Technical Sciences, Former President of Finnish Association of Architects

ZHUANG Weimin (China) Dean, Professor and Doctoral Supervisor of School of Architecture, Tsinghua University 

Preston Scott Cohen (USA), Gerald M. McCue Professor of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design; Founder and principal of Preston Scott Cohen, Inc. of Cambridge, MA 

LI Zhenyu
 (China), Dean and Professor of the College of Architecture and Urban Planning, Tongji University

Fuensanta Nieto (Spain), Founder of Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, Winner of 2015 Alvar Aalto Medal 

HAN Dongqing (China), Dean, Professor and Doctoral Supervisor of School of Architecture, Southeast University 

Koichi Yasuda
 (Japan), Associate Dean of School of Environment and Society, Professor of Department of Architecture & Building Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology; Founder of Yasuda Atelier

ZHANG Qi (China), Dean, Professor and Doctoral Supervisor of School of Architecture, Tianjin University 

Vincent Nadin (The Netherlands), Professor of Spatial Planning, Chairman of Department of Urbanism, Technische Universiteit Delft, 

SUN Yimin (China), Dean of School of Architecture, South China University of Technology, Distinguished Professor of Yangtze River Scholar, National Reputed Educators

Neil Leach (USA), Professor of Digital Design at the European Graduate School, Adjunct Professor of the University of Southern California, Visiting Professor of Harvard University and Tongji University 

PENG Lixiao (China), Chief Editor of Urban Environment Design (UED) Magazine; Director of CBC (China Building Center); Guest Professor of the School of Architecture, Tianjin University

GONG Jun (China), Executive Director and Design Director of HYP-ARCH Architectural Design Consultant CO., LTD.


  • 30 Aug 2018
  • 20 Sep 2018
    Submission deadline
  • 16 Oct 2018