International Union of Architects

5th International Baku Architecture Award


professional award

biennial & open

The Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan have launched the fifth edition of the Baku International Architecture Award, an open, biennial award with the support of the UIA.



For the Award procedure, regulations or other information, visit the competition website.



This biennial award, open to qualified architects everywhere and endorsed by the UIA since 2015, seeks to recognize architectural diversity and to encourage new ideas and research, new realizations and exemplary new implementations of urban planning and architectural projects globally. 

Participants from 38 countries entered the 2019 edition of the Award and the international jury recognised winners from 18 countries: South Africa, Egypt, China, Georgia, Japan, Azerbaijan, Kenya, Iran, Slovakia, Portugal, Malaysia, Spain, Argentina, UAE, Greece, Hong Kong, Denmark, Bangladesh.

In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year, the fifth anniversary edition of the Award will be held online.

Entries are invited in the following categories:

A – Implemented public architecture project;

B – Implemented residential architecture project;

C – Implemented interior;

D – Non-realised project;

E – Implemented landscape architecture project;

F – Rehabilitation and reconstruction of historic buildings project;

G – Architecture publication



Announcement:  29 January 2021

Deadline for submitting questions: 1 August 2021


Deadline for the reception of entries: 1 September 2021


International jury meeting: 28-30 September 2021


Announcement of the results: 4 October 2021





Three prizes will be attributed in each category. The prize fund of 52 500 AZN (25,668 Euros*) will be awarded as follows:


First Prize: 4000 AZN (1 960 Euros)


Second Prize: 2500 AZN (1 224 Euros)


Third Prize: 1000 AZN (490 Euros)


*Prize money in Euros is approximate





Architects duly qualified for architectural practice in their country of residence may participate in the Award. Each participant can submit only one project for each category. Participation is free of charge.




The working languages of the competition: Azerbaijani, Russian and English.




All questions concerning the Award procedure should be sent to the prize organisers.  




Esa Mohamed (Malaysia), President of the Jury, UIA Past President (2014-2017)


In-Souk Cho (Korea), UIA Representative; Co-Director, UIA Heritage & Cultural Identity Work Programme


Victor Leonel (Angola), President of the Africa Union of Architects (AUA)


Joseph Kwan (Hong Kong), Director of Region IV, UIA Architecture for All Work Programme


Elbay Gasim-Zada, Chairman of the Board of the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan