International Union of Architects

Fourth Cycle of the Golden Cubes Awards

Architecture and Children

The UIA Architecture & Children Work Program is now launching its fourth cycle of the triennial Golden Cubes Awards for the year 2020.



The UIA Architecture & Children Work Program is now launching its fourth cycle of the triennial Golden Cubes Awards for the year 2020.

The Golden Cubes Awards (GCA) honours people and organizations that help children and young people to develop a better understanding of architecture and the built environment. Entrants are invited to submit entries describing activities or products designed to teach children and young people, from pre-school up to and including the age of 18, about architectural design and the processes by which our built environment is shaped.

There are four award categories for:

1.     Schools ( non-vocational schools)

2.     Institutions (organisations, institutions, museums, etc.)

3.     Written Media (books, magazines, non audio-visual educational tools, games, etc.)

4.     Audio-visual Media (films, audio-visual educational material, web sites, etc.)

The UIA Architecture & Children Golden Cubes Awards process is not a ‘competition’ for which entrants are expected to produce new projects. Instead, they are invited to present submissions relating to an activity which is currently active, a product designed and manufactured, or an event which has taken place, at any time, between September 2017- and submission deadline in March 2020.

The Award Process has two phases: National and International.

First phase: Each UIA National Member Section participating in the Award will organize a selection process at National level and nominate one entry in each award category, if possible, for submission for the International Awards.

Second phase: The International Jury will evaluate the Nominated Entries and select one UIA Architecture & Children Golden Cubes Award in each category.



  • 28 February 2019: Launch

  • February 2019 – January 2020: National nomination process

  • 1 June 2019: Deadline for national Member Sections to notify UIA Architecture & Children of their country's participation in the Award

  • 1 October 2019: Deadline for submission of questions 

  • 1 November 2019: Final FAQ answers issued by organisers

  • 15 March 2020: Deadline for national Member Sections to submit national nominations to UIA Architecture & Children

  • April 2020: International awards Jury and announcement of the winners

  • 19-26 July 2020: UIA Congress Rio / Award ceremony



UIA Architecture & Children Work Programme


Each winner will receive an Award Certificate and a Trophy. Winning and commended entries will be included in the UIA Architecture & Children Work Programme exhibition at the UIA Congress in Rio July 2020. Winners will be invited to the UIA Congress in Rio de Janeiro to receive their prize and attend the exhibition of their work.

  • 28 Feb 2019
  • 01 Jun 2019
  • 15 Mar 2020
    Submission deadline
  • 01 Apr 2020
  • 19 Jul 2020
    Award Ceremony