International Union of Architects

UIA Award for Innovation in Architectural Education

UIA Prizes

Architectural Pedagogy

The International Union of Architects (UIA) is pleased to announce the inaugural edition of the UIA Award for Innovation in Architectural Education, organised by the UIA Architectural Education Commission. The Award is established to celebrate the multifaceted nature of innovation across the boundaries of cultures and geographies, and to promote inspiring pedagogical practices that contribute to the creation of sustainable environments.



Q & A now available HERE!






Open to colleges, schools, departments or programmes of architecture worldwide, the inaugural UIA Award for Innovation in Architectural Education will recognise excellence in architectural and urban design education, focusing on innovative pedagogies that foster the development of sustainable environments across the five UIA Regions, while reflecting their broad diversity. Aligning with the UNESCO-UIA Charter for Architectural Education, the Award emphasises the role of architecture and urban design education in addressing the societal and environmental challenges facing the built environment, and in articulating the opportunities those challenges create.



Architectural education in the 21st century demands creativity and innovation; research and investigation; collaboration and civic engagement; environmental awareness and technical competence. Submissions for this award must therefore demonstrate excellence in pedagogical practice based on evidence of pedagogical innovation and enhanced learning outcomes.

This includes providing examples demonstrating and documenting how the pedagogical programme:


  • Stimulated students' inquisitiveness in ways that inspire a commitment to society and the environment.
  • Recognised and effectively enhanced the diversity of student learning needs, thus offering multiple learning opportunities.
  • Related to relevant findings from architectural research, scholarship, and professional practice in ways that add value to the learning environment.
  • Engaged with and potentially contributed to the established body of knowledge by working effectively across disciplines.
  • Adopted and implemented pedagogical approaches that respond to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.



  • Any school/programme of architecture worldwide recognised by higher education authorities in its corresponding country. This includes independent schools/programmes or schools/ programs within public or private universities.
  • The school/programme must have been established for at least 10 years.
  • The school/programme must offer a professional degree in architecture, which is recognized by its local higher education authorities and/or local validation/accreditation body.
  • UNESCO-UIA validation is not a requirement for entry.



 For any questions, please contact the Curator of the prize.

 For more information, see the complete regulations and submissions requirements here.



Up to five (5) prizes will be awarded. This includes one (1) prize for one school/programme located within each of the five UIA Regions. The jury reserves the right not to award all the medals if entries do not meet the eligibility or submission requirements, or if entries fall short of the required standards. Conferral of honourable mentions is at the discretion of the jury.

Winners and selected entries will form part of the UIA Education Commission Exhibition at the 27th UIA World Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and may be part of other forms of UIA publications and exhibitions. The UIA Education Commission will develop an edited volume highlighting the merits and key innovative practices presented in the winning submissions, as well as those of selected entries. The publication will comprise a best practices document for architectural educators worldwide. Materials reproduced, published and/or exhibited by UIA will recognise the corresponding school/programme, and will credit the copyright of all student authors.



Prizes for the inaugural edition of the UIA Award for Innovation in Architectural Education will be conferred at the official awards ceremony of the 27th UIA World Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on 22 July 2020.


  • 22 Nov 2019
  • 20 Oct 2020
    Submission deadline
  • 01 Dec 2020
  • 21 Jul 2021
    Award Ceremony